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Chapter 1

MTG_CARD K

1.1

Card Rulings & Descriptions - K
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1.2 Kaervek’s Spite

Kaervek’s Spite

The sacrifice of all your permanents and discarding of your hand is part of

the casting cost and is paid on announcement.

You do not have a choice to

pay this cost zero times or more than one time in order to multiply the
effect. [D’Angelo 01/28/97]

As always, you cannot sacrifice things you do not control.

[Duelist Magazine #17,

Card Information

1.3 Kaervek’s Torch

Page 30]
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Kaervek’s Torch
The extra cost applies to all interrupts and not just to spells. For
example, the Daring Apprentice’s effect would require 2 mana in addition

to its other costs. [RAahz 01/22/97]

Card Information

1.4 Karakas

Karakas
+ Can only be used on "Summon Legend" cards, not on cards from the Legends
expansion, and not Legendary Land or other Legendary cards.

[D’Angelo 10/11/97]

Card Information

1.5 Karma

Karma

Is considered one source of white damage and the damage comes in one
packet. [Rahz 07/29/94]

Amount of damage is locked in when effect is resolved and not when it is
announced. [D’Angelo 10/05/95]

The text was changed between the Alpha and Beta printings of the Limited
Edition.

Card Information

1.6 Karplusan Giant

Karplusan Giant
The land is tapped during announcement and as a cost.
[Duelist Magazine #11, Page 56] The effect cannot be announced if the

land is not in an untapped state. [D’Angelo 12/23/96]

Card Information

1.7 Karplusan Yeti
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Karplusan Yeti
See Tracker for rulings.

Card Information

1.8 Keeper of Tresserhorn

Keeper of Tresserhorn
The loss of life happens as a triggered effect that triggers when defense is
chosen and resolves as soon as blocking choices are done. It triggers if

it has no blockers at that time. [Aahz 06/24/96]

Card Information

1.9 Keldon Warlord

Keldon Warlord
The power/toughness adjusts itself as a continuous effect that is
recalculated after each effect resolves or anything happens which might

change 1it.

Card Information

1.10 Khabal Ghoul

Khabal Ghoul

Can collect counters for creatures that died during the turn in which it
enters play, even if it enters play after they die. [bethmo]

Card Information

1.11  King Suleiman

King Suleiman

Can destroy any Djinn or Efreet, including the one in the main set, or
any Clone or Doppelganger of one. [bethmo]

Card Information




MTG_CARD_K 5/12

1.12 Kird Ape
Kird Ape

+ Has always been on the Duelists’ Convocation banned list (not allowed in a
deck) for Extended tournaments.

Card Information

1.13 Kismet

Kismet

Cards enter play tapped. They do not come into play untapped and then
immediately tap, therefore they do not trigger any effects due to
tapping. [Aahz 06/28/94] Face-down creatures due to Illusionary Mask will
come into play tapped and face-down.

You choose one player on casting and it only affects that one player. This
target is not changed even if this card changes controllers. It becomes
useless but stays in play if the target player leaves play.

[Duelist Magazine #4, Page 64]
+ Does not affect cards phasing in. [Duelist Magazine #19, Page 30]

As errata to the Legends version of the card, it should read "target player"”
instead of "opponent". This means you can use it on yourself.
[Duelist Magazine #4, Page 64] The Fourth Edition version says this.

The Legends version only affects lands, creatures and artifacts played from
your hand. The Fourth Edition version affects generated token creatures,
creatures brought into play by Animate Dead, and any other way to get

a permanent into play. [bethmo 01/23/96]

Card Information

1.14 Kjeldoran Dead

Kjeldoran Dead

If there are no creatures in play (other than this one) when it enters play,
you have to sacrifice this card. [Duelist Magazine #6, Page 132]

The sacrifice is a triggered effect and not a cost.
[WotC Rules Team 12/03/96]

Card Information

1.15 Kjeldoran Elite Guard
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Kjeldoran Elite Guard

Can be assigned as a blocker and then have its ability used.
[WotC Rules Team 06/15/95]

Can be used when opponent is declaring attack and defense. Not just when
you are. [Duelist Magazine #7, Page 99]

Card Information

1.16 Kjeldoran Frostbeast

Kjeldoran Frostbeast
As errata, it should read "Whenever Kjeldoran Frostbeast blocks or is
blocked by a creature, destroy that creature at end of combat."

[Encyclopedia Page 87]

Card Information

1.17 Kjeldoran Guard

Kjeldoran Guard

Can be assigned as a blocker and then have its ability used.
[WotC Rules Team 06/15/95]

Can be used when opponent is declaring attack and defense. Not just when
you are. [Duelist Magazine #7, Page 99]

Card Information

1.18 Kjeldoran Home Guard

Kjeldoran Home Guard

The effect does not trigger when declared as attacking or blocking. It
is checked later. [Aahz 05/21/96]

Card Information

1.19 Kjeldoran Outpost

Kjeldoran Outpost

You have the choice when it enters play to sacrifice the land or let this
card be buried. You may not use the mana source speed ability between the
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time when it enters play and before it gets buried because the sacrifice
or burial is considered a phase cost. [WotC Rules Team 12/03/96]
(REVERSAL) See Comes Into Play Effects in the General Rulings for more
information.

Card Information

1.20 Kjeldoran Pride

Kjeldoran Pride
Does not target the creature it is moving itself to at the time it is moved.
[bethmo 07/20/96] Once on that creature, it targets the creature like any

enchantment would.

Card Information

1.21 Kjeldoran Royal Guard

Kjeldoran Royal Guard
Only usable on combat damage from unblocked attacking creatures. Any damage
from effects (even while it is attacking and is unblocked) is not wvalid.

[Duelist Magazine #7, Page 99]

Can be used during damage prevention, or it may be used earlier in the turn.
[Aahz 11/07/96]

If used earlier in the turn, it only works as long as it is in play. Once
it leaves play, the effect continues to try to redirect the damage but
there is no place to redirect it so the damage stays where it is.

[Aahz 11/07/96]

Card Information

1.22 Knight of the Mists

Knight of the Mists
Can bury an opponent’s knight. [Visions FAQ 02/16/97]

If no other knights are in play, pay the mana or bury this card.
[Visions FAQ 02/16/97]

Card Information
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1.23 Knight of Valor

Knight of Valor

The ability is not Flanking and is not removed by an effect that removes
Flanking. [Duelist Magazine #17, Page 30]

The activiated ability is not exactly the same as Flanking. It affects all
creatures blocking the Knight and not only ones assigned to block it.

[DeLaney 02/02/97]

Card Information

1.24 Knowledge Vault

Knowledge Vault

As errata, it should read "...into your hand. If you lose control of
Knowledge Vault, bury all cards under it." [Encyclopedia Page 151]

Taking a card from the library and placing it under the Vault does not
count as drawing a card. [Rahz 08/11/94]

The cost to retrieve the cards is like "0, Sacrifice Knowledge Vault:",
except it is not really an activation cost. The "2,Tap" cost only applies

to putting a card under the Vault. [D’Angelo 11/08/96]

The cards "under it" refers to the ones set aside by it. If it is in the
graveyard, it does not refer to the graveyard.

+ The card taken from your library must be from the top of the library.
[Aahz 07/07/97]

Card Information

1.25 Kobold Drill Sergeant

Kobold Drill Sergeant
He is not a Kobold, so he does not give himself abilities. [Aahz 07/15/94]

Card Information

1.26 Kobold Overlord

Kobold Overlord
He is not a Kobold, so he does not give himself abilities. [Aahz 07/15/94]

Card Information
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1.27 Kobolds of Kher Keep

Kobolds of Kher Keep

As errata, it should read "This card is considered a red card.
[Encyclopedia Page 152]

See Crimson Kobolds for rulings.

Card Information

1.28 Kobold Taskmaster

Kobold Taskmaster
He is not a Kobold, so he does not give himself abilities. [RAahz 07/15/94]

Card Information

1.29 Kormus Bell

Kormus Bell
As errata, the Fourth Edition version of this card should not say "black".
The created creatures are not given a color.

[Duelist Magazine #5, Page 11]

See the Animated Lands and Artifacts entry in the General Rulings for
more information.

The Swamps are both lands and creatures at the same time.
This does mean Swamps owned by any and all players.

The lands can be killed as creatures or lands, so Wrath of God, Armageddon,
Smoke, Winter Orb, and many others affect them.

With Balance, consider them both as lands and as creatures. Just remove
whatever you have to in order to achieve "balance". And yes, this does

mean that they get double-counted :—(

Consecrate Land does not protect the land from being affected by the Bell.
[bethmo]

Card Information

1.30 Krovikan Fetish
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Krovikan Fetish

As errata, this card should have you draw a card at the beginning of the
next turn, not the next turn’s upkeep. [Duelist Magazine #18, Page 28]

See the Cantrip entry in the General Rulings for more information.
If it is moved to a new creature by something that moves enchantments,
the controller of the Fetish get to draw another card.

[Duelist Magazine #6, Page 132]

You do not get a card if the target becomes illegal before it resolves.
[D’Angelo 06/20/95]

Card Information

1.31 Krovikan Plague

Krovikan Plague
It is played on a non-wall creature you control. This is considered to
be a targeting restriction. The enchantment will bury itself if you lose
control of the creature or if it somehow becomes a Wall.

[Duelist Magazine #11, Page 54]

Card Information

1.32 Krovikan Sorcerer

Krovikan Sorcerer

The cards are discarded from your hand during announcement and as a cost.
[Duelist Magazine #11, Page 56]

It is not a forced discard, so it cannot be used with Library of Leng.
[Duelist Magazine #11, Page 56]

The Fifth Edition version of the card has 2 abilities instead of one, but
the behavior of the card is identical to the Ice Age version since the
Ice Age one was modal. [D’Angelo 04/11/97] (See Modal Effects in the

General Rulings)

Card Information

1.33 Krovikan Vampire

Krovikan Vampire

You do not get the creature back if the creature is not still in the
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graveyard at the end of the turn. [RAahz 06/10/95]

If the creature goes to the graveyard, then leaves the graveyard by some
means, then the Vampire effect loses track of it. It will not give you
control of the creature even if the creature goes back to the graveyard

before the end of the turn. [RAahz 11/21/95]

You do get the permanent back if the card that went to the graveyard is
no longer a creature. [Aahz 07/12/95]

Works no matter how he damages the creature: in combat, in the Arena, or
by some other effect. [D’Angelo 08/01/95]

The Krovikan Vampire effect remembers who was controlling it when it damaged
the creature. At the end of the turn, the creature will come under that
player’s control. If at that time, the player does not also control the
Vampire, the creature is immediately buried again (as per the Vampire’s
text that you bury the creature if you lose control of the Vampire).

[Aahz 11/08/95]

Card Information

1.34 Kry Shield

Kry Shield

Using the Shield does not undo any damage already dealt this turn.
[Aahz 10/21/94]

Can be used during upkeep to prevent damage due to not paying a creature’s
upkeep. [D’Angelo 05/12/95]

Card Information

1.35 Kudzu

Kudzu

As errata, it should read "If enchanted land becomes tapped, destroy that
land, and its controller moves Kudzu to another legal target. If he or
she cannot, bury Kudzu." [Encyclopedia Page 53]

If the land with Kudzu on it is destroyed by some spell or effect (rather
than tapping) Kudzu is placed in the graveyard. [Snark]

Yes, you can move it to any other player’s land whenever you get to move
it. [Card text]

Leaves play once there are no lands which it can be placed on. Consecrated
lands are protected. [bethmo]

Although the person making choices with this spell changes regularly, the
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"controller" of the enchantment does not change.

It is always the caster
who is the controller.

If it is on a Strip Mine which is used, the Kudzu ability is triggered at
the same time the Mine is sacrificed, but the Kudzu is buried as a
continuous effect before the trigger resolves. Thus,

the Kudzu does not
move on. [D’Angelo 11/08/96]

Note that it is not treated as if "just cast" when moved to the new target.

Card Information
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